Iowa AEYC has grant and scholarship opportunities for members and others in the Iowa early care and education workforce. If you are interested in a T.E.A.C.H. Early Childhood® Iowa Scholarship, go to the T.E.A.C.H. page for more information.


Tony Lacy Memorial Membership Scholarships Available!

The Tony Lacy Memorial Membership Scholarship pays for individual Iowa AEYC and NAEYC membership. Funds are raised for the scholarships with raffle baskets submitted by the Iowa AEYC governing board, staff, and local chapters at the Fall Institute. Applications are accepted November 1 through December 31 and awarded after the January governing board meeting.

Tony Lacy Scholarship Application.
This is a fillable Word document. When you click on the link above it will download the file, which will appear on the lower left corner of your screen. You can then click on the file to open, fill in the blanks, print, get the appropriate signatures and return.

Iowa AEYC presents three awards every year at the Annual Early Care and Education Fall Institute to honor leaders in our field. This year's recipients are:

Children's Champion

The Children’s Champion Award is presented to a person who has made significant contributions on a statewide level to improving the quality of care and education of young children.
The criteria used in selecting the candidate for this award include  contributions in advocacy or legislation or public awareness, at the state level and service or achievement that impacts policy and/or develop public awareness of the need to invest in quality care and education for all of Iowa’s children.
Dr. Amy Shriver
Dr. Amy Shriver has spent countless hours in and beyond her own professional field advocating for high quality early childhood resources. She is well known in the Iowa community for her work as pediatrician and her work in Early Childhood. Her positive outreach has reached professionals, policy makers, and families with young children. As a metro pediatrician and Medical Director for Read Out and Read Iowa, Dr Shriver quickly made it known that she was passionate about young children’s health, wellness, development, and relationships within their homes and their community. She is passionate about early childhood and all it entails.

Dr. Shriver readily shares her knowledge and expands her own awareness and understanding through  research, dialogue, networking, and collaboration within and beyond her chosen medical profession. She’s had numerous Des Moines Register Letters to the Editor published and on many occasions Dr. Shriver has been the face to the media to draw attention to children’s issues. 
Dr. Shriver has always been willing to stand up for causes affecting young children. She has strengthened Iowa’s focus on supporting all children in their development and she is truly a Children’s Champion.
Friend of Young Children
The Friend of Young Children Award is granted to an Iowa AEYC member who has made a significant contribution to improving the quality of care and education of young children and/or to the Iowa Association for the Education of Young Children.

The criteria used in selecting the candidate for this award includes contributions in the field of early care and  education in Iowa, support of Iowa AEYC, or other volunteer efforts that make a positive difference in  meeting the needs of young children and/or their  families and service or achievement with children birth to age eight years, or for outstanding support of the workforce caring for these children.
Joann Gansen
In her own child development home, Joann Gansen is accommodating and supportive, she has been  flexible with opening and closing hours to meet the needs of parent’s schedules, which often include night and weekend care. Her flexibility has allowed parents with no other family or those with no options in the area to continue to work and provide for their children. 

Joann has been instrumental in getting others involved in early childhood. Joann has promoted Iowa AEYC to other child care providers and encouraged their involvement in local meetings. She promotes services and initiatives that will benefit young children. Her positive attitude and her willingness to continue to grow as a child care professional has helped her become a role model for other providers.

Joann follows best practices and is always seeking more information to help better her program. Joann was instrumental in supporting and bringing in a speaker to talk about Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACES) and she readily works hard to share information on the childcare environment, contracts and  policies, indoor and outdoor activities, and everything that goes into quality care and education.
Joann is an advocate for providers, the children that she serves, and their families, and she is truly a Friend of Young Children. 
Educator of the Year
The Educator of the Year Award is presented to an Iowa AEYC Member who has made a significant contribution to improving the quality of care and education of young children in his/her role as a teacher, teaching assistant, or child development home provider, working directly with young children, ages birth to age 8.

The criteria used in selecting the candidate for this award include contributions and dedication to early care and education, effective teaching practices and positive impacts on children, and contributions in early care and education program and/or volunteer efforts that make a positive difference in meeting the needs of young children and/or their families.
Jill Owenns
Jill Owens uses the latest research, along with her natural ability to relate well to students through fun and engaging activities. Her teaching style is child focused and intentional. She utilizes teaching  strategies based on student needs. She is a very positive individual and is always willing to help other staff beyond her own duties. 

Jill has taught in diverse classrooms with students of different racial, cultural, socioeconomic, and special needs backgrounds. Jill has also worked extensively with students having significant behavior issues. She demonstrates a high level of skill in meeting the needs of all her students. Jill takes the time to establish a positive relationship with her students. 

Countless numbers of students and families have, and will continue, to benefit from Jill’s passion, caring, and drive to provide the highest quality preschool experience for all. Jill is not only focused on providing the best preschool experience for the students in her classroom, she is also dedicated to improving early childhood across the school district. Jill sets a high bar for preschool teachers and for the teachers at all levels and she is truly deserving of the award for Educator of the Year.

Tony Lacy Scholarship Recipients Spring 2018
Name Position City
Brook Bockman Hjerleid Director Decorah
Shelly Christensen Registered Child Development Home Provider Atlantic
Mary Doherty Teacher & Assistant Director Norwalk
Heidi Douma Instructor Sibley
Mariah Dusynski Registered Child Development Home Provider Story City
Kellie Harding Director Council Bluffs
Wendi Harrah Registered Child Development Home Provider Clarion
Tanya Henderson Nursery Caregiver Centerville
Grace Higdon Director Altoona
Sarah Hoffman Director & Lead Teacher Cedar Rapids
Jodie Hubka Director Lime Springs
Emmy Marker Teacher's Assistant Davenport
Jeannie Miller
Provider Services Specialist
Latino Provider Network Coordinator
Des Moines
Tiffany Raymond Lead Infant & Toddler Teacher Prairie City
Jill Ridenour Lead Teacher Independence
Brooke Sanders Universal Pre-K Teacher Johnston
Anita Schuckert Registered Child Development Home Provider Iowa City
Alicia Scoggin Registered Child Development Home Provider Fort Dodge
Amanda Sharp Lead Infant Teacher Van Meter
Tyesha Wright Floater Des Moines