The Iowa Association for the Education of Young children is governed by a 21 member board.

2021-2022 Board Membership

Position Name
President Miranda Niemi
President-Elect Brandy Smith
Vice President Crystal Abbe
Treasurer/Finance Chair Brian Kingrey
Secretary Whitney Fink
High Performing Inclusive Organization (HPIO) Chair Donna Kennebeck
Early Childhood Workforce Advisory Committee Chair Tracy Ehlert
Family Engagement Chair Katie McKenzie
Membership Recruitment and Support Chair Catherine Bergman
Public Policy Chair Leslie Stonehocker
Play Committee Chair Dianne Casto
NAEYC Affiliate Advisory Committee Rep (Ex Officio) Melanie Felton
East Central Chapter Representative Sara Schwerin
Family Child Care Chapter Representative Tiffany Skaggs
Green Valley Chapter Representative TBD
Mid-Iowa Chapter Representative Rebecca Ausman
Mississippi Rock Chapter Representative TBD
North Central Chapter Representative Catherine Bergman
Northeast Chapter Representative Angela Schrodt
North Iowa Chapter Representative Dianne Casto
Prairie Rivers Chapter Representative Allison Pattee
Rolling Prairie Chapter Representative Vickie Parker
Siouxland Chapter Representative TBD
Southeast Chapter Representative Gladys Movall
Southwest Chapter Representative Mike Stiehl
West Central Chapter Representative Angela Lensch
Western Plains Chapter Representative Kristy Liechti


2020-2021 Board Meetings/Events

October  Annual Membership Meeting
October 9
Executive Committee Meeting: Officers and Executive Director
October 23 Governing Board Meeting
January 8 Executive Committee
January 22 Governing Board Meeting
Apri 9 Executive Committee Meeting: Officers and Executive Director
April 23 Governing Board Meeting
July 8 Executive Committee Meeting: Officers and Executive Director
July 22-23 Governing Board Retreat
September 30 Annual Iowa AEYC Membership Meeting (tentative)
October 7 Executive Committee Meeting: Officers and Executive Director (tentative)
October 22 Governing Board Meeting (tentative)

Important Links:

Iowa AEYC Strategic Plan 2022

NAEYC'S Statement of Commitment as a High-Performing, Inclusive Organization

NAEYC Guidance for the Affiliate/Chapter Relationship

NAEYC/IAAEYC Charter Agreement